1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Just Want to Get By.....

Discussion in 'Meyer / Diamond Products Discussion' started by the beast, Oct 24, 2007.

1. the beast

the beast Junior Member

I'm new to being able to post to the forum but have been looking at all the posts for a while and have a unique problem. I have a 1987 plow truck with a Meyers E47 pump that ONLY does my 200 foot driveway. I got sick of blowing snow on a lawn tractor and for less than the cost of a new snow blower bought a used truck and plow, affectionately named "the Beast." I just want to get through this coming winter with it. I've had it for two years and the first year was a shakedown (replaced all couplings and hoses) and the second year was sort of OK....until I had a lot of foaming and icing issues which went away when I cleaned the filters and replaced all the fluid. My question is, what should I be doing to the pump NOW so that I can have an uneventful winter? Note that everything is currently working fine and my local Meyers dealer told me not to use Meyers fluid and sold me some generic blue stuff, which seems to work. For a truck that won't travel a total of a mile this winter, should I drain and flush the entire system? And refill with...?

Sorry for the long post, but I've been saving it up for 6 months.
  2. B&B

B&B PlowSite Fanatic