1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

just starting out

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by will s, Feb 8, 2003.

1. will s

will s Junior Member

Hi Guys,

I'm pretty new to this so please bare with me. I Recently purchased a plow for my truck and I would like to earn a little money on the side plowing. I don't think i'm ready to start my own business yet but I am interesed in working for a sub-contractor, or another snow plow Business. Now, since I'm using my own plow and truck, what additional insurance's do I need to get, other than my regular auto insurance? Also what is the best way to get started in this? I'm 23 years old, and a hard worker, but it seems like all the local contractor's have had the same guys working for them, and I'm just the new guy in town..

Desperately seeking work,
    Hamilton, New Jersey
    1999' Ford F-150 (off-road edition)
    Sno-Way Predator MT 7'6":confused:
  2. Highpoint

Highpoint Senior Member

Honestly Will, you need to just wrestle up some work around your neighborhood doing drives. You HAVE to get some experience! Most if not all contractors are going to shy away from hiring you till you get some. We personally hired a virgin this winter. He has had 5 events and I'm still leary about giving him any substantial accounts. He's mainly been doing very small EMPTY lots and a few very EASY drives. He has already hit one parked car ($950 damage), busted 1 spring in the plow, over salted one lot and darn near got us fired! You have to start some where. Go to friends and family first. Get the hang of the plow and the handling. Good luck:p
  3. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine