1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Just Starting Out

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by theguynextdoor, Sep 18, 2007.

1. theguynextdoor

theguynextdoor Senior Member

Hey guys, I just had a couple questions. Im just starting out in the plowing business. I just bought a 1998 Dodge Ram 2500 (got a great deal on it, with brand new brakes, all terrain tires, and shift kit) and a 3 year old 7ft 9in western plow (wierd size because it used to be 10 ft but was too long for the guy who had it before me). I still need to get an amber light bar, which ill probably get from whelen. Im repainting the plow and this might be a dumb question, but does it have to be red? Also, im trying to find the best insurance for plowing, Im going for 20-30 residential contracts (no commerical yet), i'm 18 years old in college. I already have about 15 contracts. What kind of insurance rates am i looking at and what companies are good for it. Im in the western new york area and pumped for it to start snowing.

thanks for the info

2. hydro_37

hydro_37 PlowSite Veteran
    from iowa

You can paint the blade any color you want. Use a good primer and a good Rustoleum paint. I always spray a clear coat over the paint. The snow doesn't stick. Make sure you change all fluids and check electrical connections. You may have a hard time getting insurance to plow because of your age. Start out with your carrier now and just shop around. Good luck.

3. EaTmYtAiLpIpEs

EaTmYtAiLpIpEs 2000 Club Member

I got a good price on having my old plow sand blasted and powder coated for $200.

4. DaySpring Services

DaySpring Services PlowSite.com Addict