1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Just starting - How many residential driveways?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Dougman, Dec 2, 2006.

1. Dougman

Dougman Member
    from MA

I'm located in Southeastern Massachusetts and this is my first year plowing with a new Chevy 2500HD 4x4 work truck and new plow. My other work is three season so plowing is about it for the winter months. In other words, no worries re: conflict with another job.

My insurance and lack of ice treatment capability will not allow commercial contracts at this time. How many residential driveways in a single large town... high and low-priority... is it reasonable for one owner-operated truck & plow to have under contract. I do have back-up provided by another truck and driver when absolutely necessary.

If it matters, my pricing is currently full agreed price on a 3-4" per-push basis with a 3-push price cap per storm, although this is under reconsideration (see my other post). After storm clean-ups are provided free and I do allow clients to opt out without penalty for any storm with advance notice. I also accept per-storm calls.

Thanks in advance for any and all input.

Dougman

2. mark m

mark m Junior Member

doug i also just do residentials. I have 20 clients and with the snow in upper mi. thats all i can handle. I also do porches and after snow clean up for free.
    Hope this helps. LET IT SNOW. :yow!: :yow!: :yow!: :yow!:

3. Dougman

Dougman Member
    from MA

Thanks Mark. May I ask: How many are high priority "must be clear by 7AM"... and how many are lower-priority discounted/retired folks/etc.?