1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Just purchased a 05' chevy 2500hd =)

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Mr.PLOWSI, Sep 28, 2005.

1. Mr.PLOWSI

Mr.PLOWSI Member

Well I got the new 2500HD with the 6.0 LS with the employee discount pricina and an additional rebate of 3,000 for 27,600 :drinkup:. I've been hunting for this truck for 6 months and this was the best deal by far on a truck like this. I have a couple of questions about it. I've heard about the overheating problem with the plow, is there an easy fix for that? I have a 7.5 meyer, should I buy a bigger plow, like a 8.5 fisher or boss? Should I add timbrens on the front end even though its a 2500hd? I'm sure I'll have other questions It is so amazing how much more power the 6.0 v8 has compared to the 4.3 v6.
  2. CGLC

CGLC Senior Member

Get a 8 foot plow that way you won't run over the snow that falls along the side of the truck packing it down and making more work then is needed.
  3. Boss

Go gor a boss 8ft Super duty or a boss 8'2" V.....tinbrens are overrated....just twist the torsion bars up about 3 or 4 cranks for the winter.........be sure to count the cranks though!......as for the overheating problem, my best friend has a 04 2500hd with a 6.0L, boss 9'2" V and Swingwing on the back..NEVER has overheating problems
  4. ratlover

ratlover PlowSite.com Addict
    from IL

What front end rating do you have? 4800# I hope? Plow prep? What cab config? What kinda plowing will you be doing? Its hard to know whats the best, it depends alot on your situation