1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Just getting started...

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by TFCfan2021, Feb 11, 2010.

1. TFCfan2021

TFCfan2021 Junior Member

Im new to the plowing business (other than plowing for other people) I have a 95 GMC Jimmy that I wanna use to plow with. Im looking for ideas on a good setup for that vehicle. So far the only plow I could find is the Homsteader, but Im worried it might be too light for heavy snow. And im wondering if I should use the 6'8" or the 7'4" (i think thats correct) on my vehicle.

Does anyone have experience with Homesteader Plows? Im looking to do my driveway and neighbors and small lots for now to get started. If anyone knows another good combination for my vehicle please let me know.
  2. hydro_37

hydro_37 PlowSite Veteran
    from iowa

The Jimmy will be kind of light duty for heavy wet snow.
  3. Lugnut

Lugnut Senior Member

Idk about the homesteader, its ok if you do your driveway and maybe a neighbors, but i don't think its designed for much more. Check out the sno-ways, i believe they have some smaller plows that might work for your application.
  4. Krieger91

Krieger91 Senior Member

TO my knowledge, I have a '94 Chevy S10 Blazer, there are about 3 plows from 3 different companies that are light enough for that vehicle to handle it.

There's the Fisher Homesteader. I think they come in 6'8" or 7'4", maybe 7'6" instead of the 7'4". Either size, I think, would be acceptable.

There's the Western Suburnanite, which I believe has similar dimensions to the Homesteader.