1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Just can't decide between 7.5' or 8' plow.

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by ybnorml, Oct 11, 2004.

1. ybnorml

ybnorml Member

I know this has been brought up many times but I still can't make a decision. This is my first year plowing and will most likely be looking at residential and some commercial. Some people I've talked to recommend the 7.5' and some say just get it over with and buy an 8'. Is there really a big difference when plowing? Does the 8' feel a little big plowing residential driveway's? Any experienced info would be greatly appreciated. It's a big purchase that I want to get right........

Thanks,

2. cja1987

cja1987 PlowSite.com Addict

I don't know what you have for a truck but if its 250 or up then i would say get the 8' if you are doing any commercial at all. Its only a 4" difference between 7'6" and 8" so it would not be too big in driveways. 8'5" and up is a different story. Overall 8' is a perfect mid point for commercial and residential.

3. 04superduty

04superduty PlowSite.com Addict

that extra 6" will help if you have to do turns it will prevent you from running over as much snow. just go with the 8' so later you wont be pissed that you didnt.

4. Mebes

Mebes Senior Member

I would go for the 8'.
    You will wish you had it in a couple of months.
    It's only 3 more inches on each side.
    But 3 inches can make a huge difference when you are plowing up along buildings and garages. (at 7.5' you might have to fold in your mirrors)
    Get the 8 and if you get commercial jobs think about getting some wings.

5. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine