1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

just bought a truck, should I put a plow on it???

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by allseasonturf, Jan 16, 2016.

1. allseasonturf

allseasonturf Junior Member

Hello everyone:
    I have been a member of various forums, but not of this one and I am new to the snow removal industry. I just bought a used Chevy Silverado 1500 for work/personal use and would like to put a plow in front of it. My Lawn and landscape business is in the fledgling stage, as I work full time in a similar industry. The truck was used, with 97000 miles on it, one owner and I was told he was an old farmer who drove it around very little. Doing the math, its like 6400 miles per year, and there is no proof of a beat up truck bed or plow abuse.
    On to the topic at hand. I would like to put a plow in front of this truck. I also would like to beef up the front end a bit ( iv heard this is important in most cases) and also do not foresee keeping this truck for the rest of my life. I bought this truck because my explorer was having transmission and electrical problems that I didn't want to deal with sinking money into a losing proposition. As of now, I only have 2 paid driveways in town, and my own. I don't need anything too serious and would like to keep the cost down as I am not taking out any loans to fund this business.
    I would like to get something middle of the road; something that is dependable yet financially on par with a small start-up. Hopefully down the road I will be investing more, but as for now, I need something residential. I looked at the "homesteader" from Fisher but it looked too easy...