1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

John Deere sub compact loader or Gator for parking lots and driveways?

Discussion in 'ATV / UTV Snow Removal' started by Spotts, Aug 31, 2016.

1. Spotts

Spotts Junior Member

Im a contractor who owns enough property I need to begin to do my own snow removal. So I am going to use my extra guy and begin a small snow removal service on the side. No one does even a half assed job of it here, bunch of leaky ol ram pickups with blades who show up when they feel like it...... But for a one vehicle show, I'm wondering which will be best. I have a friend who will sell a small John Deere 4wd sub compact loader, but a Gator if they move snow well, could also elk hunt and we could have fun at the cabin in during the summer..... But mostly I need to move snow. I need a tool. My office complex I have to do the street for customers, the parking lot and a thousand feet of sidewalk, big sidewalk. My shop is another 10,000 sq ft parking lot. I dont want to buy a snow tool and wish I had bought another. What would you buy as an all around snow machine?

2. BUFF

BUFF PlowSite Fanatic
    from FR NoCo

It sounds like you've already made up you mind on the Gator which isn't a bad thing. From what you're describing it should handle the task with no problem. FWIW my family ranches in Wyo and they use XUV 825i Gators which hold up much better than any other UTV in that class. (Polaris, Kawa,etc...). I would recommend getting power steering, and a cab with heat/defroster they're well worth the money.