1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Jeep Wrangler Plowing

Discussion in 'Jeeps' started by Bob's 24 hour, Nov 26, 2007.

1. Bob's 24 hour

Bob's 24 hour Junior Member

Hello All:
    I’ve been plowing for several years on my own and my business has grown to a max of 55 driveways. Can’t handle any more with those 24 inch storms. I’m thinking about buying a Jeep Wrangler or CJ as a back up vehicle for one main reason. During the summer months the wife and I do a lot of traveling with our motor home and if I had a jeep, I could tow it 4 down (4 wheels on the ground).

One friend discouraged me from getting a jeep because it was not a heavy duty vehicle. Could anyone pass on some thoughts on using a Wrangler as a back-up plowing vehicle, my F350 would be my primary truck. Engine size, transmission, suspension or down right a bad idea.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts.
    Bob

2. toby4492

toby4492 2000 Club Member

We have many customers running our plows on Jeep Wranglers. For residential drives they work very well. I would recommend outfitting with our patented hydraulic down pressure system which will do a great job back-dragging snow.

3. '76cj5

'76cj5 Member

Well I've been plowing for 30 years now with a Jeep CJ but... I know how to keep it running. Heavy Duty aftermatket frame, fiberglass body,fenders, grill. All SS nuts and bolts.
    Most CJ's you might find probably are pretty rotted out expecially the frame. So I'd stear away from a CJ.

YJ's and TJ's are later years and have galvanized bodies so they may be a better choice. Wranglers are much more manuverable and I find no problem running one on driveways. It a lot tougher on gravel driveways until they freeze over.