1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

jd 4720 for plowing small resis?

Discussion in 'Heavy Equipment' started by Kirby ent, Oct 2, 2009.

1. Kirby ent

Kirby ent Member

I read allot of negative things about the compact hydros.

The 4720 has 60 HP and almost 5000 lbs. If you can add 2500 pounds with blade and ballast the unit should push ok I think?
    I really like how compact they are compared to the 5000 series.
    I would like to put a horst snowwing 7-12 on it.

I have zero experience with tractors so maybe someone can help me out with experience.

2. DeVries

DeVries PlowSite.com Addict

I bought a 4720 as well this spring to plow out driveways at condo complexes. I put a 8 foot blade on the front, filled the tires, and added some weight on the 3 point hitch.

I guess I'm in the same boat as you I can't see why they won't push. Are you putting your blade on the loader or mounting it to the frame? Mine is on the loader, but it seems a little weak, I am gonna talk to the dealer because it seems that the loader is not fastened to the tractor properly as there is a lot of play in the loader arms.

Hopefully someone will chime in and enlighten us.

3. johndeereguy

johndeereguy Senior Member
    from Iowa

I used a 4720 for years to plow a huge (15 acre) truck stop. I used the loader and bucket from deere and put a 8 ft. Landpride blade on the back. Used ag tired with weight on the back. It worked just fine. It is very quick and mobile. Those are very nice tractors to run.

4. johndeereguy

from Iowa

There are pics on here of my setup as well

5. Triple L

Triple L PlowSite Fanatic
    from Canada

How long does it take to plow 15 acres with a 8' rear blade? 15 hours :dizzy: