1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

I've searched, and I'm confused

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Kends, Sep 20, 2001.

1. Kends

Kends Junior Member

Okay, I know to use the search first. BUT, there are so many post it gets to be impossible to find an answer.

This will be my first year plowing. I have a few questions.

I have been looking at the Hinniker 'C' plow. Since it's my first year, I figured most of my customers will be residential. What do you think?

I have been doing lawn service for a couple of builders in my area (South of Chicago, Joliet area). I do all thier model homes and town homes. I need to put bids on 15 driveways all double wide and about 30' long (3 different subdivisions within 5 miles of eachother). With them being model homes they are all together. They need the sidewalks done and the walk to the front door as well. Also need to salt them. How do you price?

I know you need to know the cost of my time first. I've got that nailed down. So, how long does it take to do a driveway?

I've heard...That you can normally charge the amount of money you charge per cut. But, does that cover the walks? I don't know.

Let me know if you can help.

2. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

For that size of drive with sidewalk, you should consider an 8hp snowblower. Besides, you need to consider maneuverability and cost of plow vs cost of snowblower. What type of truck do you have?
  3. CT18fireman

CT18fireman Banned

I heard some pretty poor report on Hiniker plows over the last few years. These problems my have been fixed but I am not sure. I would do a search on Hiniker I think you will find some interesting info.
  4. SlimJim Z71