1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

It's time my truck payed for itself

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by headviking, Oct 26, 2010.

1. headviking

headviking Junior Member

Like my post states, it's time it payed for itself. I have a 2007 F250 4X4 long box crew cab, diesel. I've kept it from hard work all it's like. I think it's it's old enough to work this coming winter.
    I am totally new to snow plowing and would like some advise on what fits best for my truck. I am looking to plow drives in my area. Mostly two car driveways around here. Some as deep as three cars long.
    Keep in mind I have a full time job that requires me to work shift work (7:00am to 2:00pm - 5:00pm to midnight).
    Hoping to buy used.
    What should I be looking to buy for my F250?
    How do I know what mounts fit my truck?
    How do I match plows to mounts? Are the manufacture specific?
    I know a person who plows in the winter on his own should I approach him about employment with my truck?

Any help from you plow heads would help alot.
  2. albhb3

albhb3 PlowSite Veteran

my advise and most people on this site will to be work for somebody else for at least 1 year to get a general idea of what your getting into. Plows are expensive, front end parts are expensive, insurence and taxes are expensive. Plus with your work schedule you will not be able to effectively service your clients on a regular basis. {you have to sleep sometime}
  3. headviking

headviking Junior Member