1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

It's Time For a New Rig!

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by JPMAKO, Mar 26, 2005.

1. JPMAKO

JPMAKO Senior Member

I have been plowing in my 1989 ford f-250 for about 8 years now, I am thinking of buying a newer truck soon. I am looking at like a 2002- 2004 GMC Ex-Cab Short bed. I would not buy another gasser so I am looking into the Duramax. I will be putting a 8' fisher on it and it will mostly be used for Plowing and pulling my landscape trailer around.
    Anyone that has a similar truck I would appreciate any comments/ Feedback. What should I look forward to as far as problems???

Thanks,
    Jason

2. cet

cet PlowSite Fanatic

I will most likely buy a similar truck to the one you discribe next time also. A few of my friends plow with them and say they are great. The only thing they complain about is how slow it is in reverse. If you are doing a lot of commercial then backing up might be an issue. Besides that they are great.

3. T-MAN

T-MAN PlowSite.com Addict

My sidekick runs an 05 Duramax. He got it midseason this year, it does rev the begeezzas out of you in reverse but it has NOT slowed down his plowing. I ran the truck in one lot and it does rev up in reverse. But not enough to slow you down. I will say he cant go 30mph like I can in reverse but I just do that when Im showing off :)

Todd

4. MickiRig1

MickiRig1 PlowSite Veteran

Why are you jumping the FORD ship? Buy a PowerStroke and be done with it!
    I drive them daily and have never had one die under me yet.
    I could go on and on about the transmissions though!

5. JPMAKO

JPMAKO Senior Member

Me too and that is part of the reason for the switch.