1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Its funny.

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Peterbilt, Oct 18, 2007.

1. Peterbilt

Peterbilt Senior Member
    from IA.

I havn't been a member of this site for all that long, I don't really know anyone on here and i will probably regret doing this. So I don't mean to offend anyone with what I am about to write.

I have been plowing for about 12 years or so now. I have been doing it for myself for 2 of these years. Along with the plowing I have to do the bidding as well.

Every night I get on this site to see what the new topics are and I am always hearing about how someone came in second on a bid, or was close on a bid, or just got plain LOWBALLED!!

Now for one I do not think I am a lowballer at all. I go look at accounts figure out how long its going to take. Figure out how much Ice control I am going to use, Find out what the potential customers needs, wants and Expectations are then submit the bid. Just like everyone else.

Along with bidding accordingly I sometimes get the account and sometimes I don't. But I don't complain about it when I don't because By not getting them all, I can provide better customer service to the accounts I do get.

I know for a fact that when I do get new accounts I usually come in at the same price or close to what the other contractors are bidding. I get them because of the reputation that I have for customer service. Not to mention the attention to detail and the products that I use.