1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Is two speed essential

Discussion in 'Heavy Equipment' started by Daveyo, May 1, 2012.

1. Daveyo

Daveyo Member
    from 6

I'm looking to buy a Gehl skidsteer for the business, I will definitely need it for plowing our developments and commercial properties. Is it essential I get a two speed, the unit I'm looking at is a one speed up to 8mph, two speed takes me to 12mph. Salesman say no, I say to myself two spped is better, but I have no experience plowing with the two speed, any thoughts thanks.

Dave

2. cet

cet PlowSite Fanatic

My machine is a 2 speed and even in 2nd it feels like you are just crawling. I couldn't see plowing with a single speed machine.

3. Daveyo

Daveyo Member
    from 6

Thanks, I kinda figured I think I'll go with a different Gehl machine with the two speed.

4. MIDTOWNPC

MIDTOWNPC PlowSite Veteran

Helps on resale also.

5. Daveyo

Daveyo Member
    from 6

Didn't even think about that, good point. I'm figuring 82 horse power, theres also a 62. The way I look at it you can never have enough horsepower.

6. RLM

RLM PlowSite.com Addict

My bobcats are both single speeds they work fine, however if I were to buy another I would prefer a 2 speed with high flow as well, but it all depends on the deal, if I came across the "right" deal I wouldn't hesitate to buy another single speed with just standard hydro. If your buying now there are plenty of deals around just look around & take your time.

7. cat320

cat320 2000 Club Member