1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Is this much weight ok in my truck?

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by watson524, Feb 28, 2010.

1. watson524

watson524 Junior Member

Hi all,

I have a 99 Dodge Ram 1500 and a 7.5' Fisher on the front. I'm new to this ballast thing since my dad was always in charge of the plowing but he's passed away so I've been dealing with it the last 3 winters. This past storm (NE PA), I just couldn't get any traction in the snow so I started looking into adding weight. On the suggestion of someone here, we got some rubbermaid bins and put bags of sand in them. I have 4 bins (3 lengthwise across the back right at the tailgate and one sideways in the middle right in front of the other ones, all being the rear axle). Total weight not including a few pounds for the bins is 660 pounds.

Is this too much? I think it's ok based on how the bed is sitting over the wheels but wanted to make sure the truck could handle this ok. Went to get gas today with all this in there and the truck actually rides nicer with it there.

2. 2COR517

2COR517 PlowSite Fanatic

Definitely not too much weight. It will make plowing much easier. Many guys run as much ballast as the plow weighs. So you could go even a little heavier.

What do you have for tires, and how much tread do they have.
  3. cmo18

cmo18 Senior Member

I had the same truck, same plow. I used about 800lbs of salt at the start of the season but then we decide to go a different route with salt, so I switched to 400lbs and still found it made a world of a difference.