1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Is this a GOOD way to price??

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by JandA, Jan 4, 2009.

1. JandA

JandA Junior Member

I have heard many different ways to price salt application....please let me know all of your thoughts on this pricing, as I am a newbie this year...

1 acre = 43,560 square feet.

I have been told (by many) that we should consider 1 acre to equal 500lbs of salt (10 bags for those of us without bulk salt).

If I charge (from what I can understand is the average) $17.00 per pag, then one acre of salt should run $170.00. That seems way too low.

Before I send out proposals, what if I charged by the square foot at 1%....for example, if an acre equals 43,560 feet, then I would charge $435.60 (which seems more in the ballpark, or am I way off?).

Couple of examples:

22,000 square feet = $220.00
    76,775 sqare feet = $767.75
    19,500 square feet = $195.00

I wouldn't leave my shop without a minimum of $100, so anything less than 10,000 square feet gets the minimum of $100.

By the way, I charge $75 per hour for plowing in addition to the salt application....

Your thoughts please???

1995 Chevy 1 ton, Meyer 7.5, tailgate spreader
    1989 Ford 1 ton, Meyer 7.5, V-Box spreader
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2009
  2. scottL

scottL PlowSite.com Addict

Pricing depends upon your area, material delivery and availability.

For instance $17 bucks a bag is nearly ideal on paper. But, you have to stay with in some limits of bulk pricing which is still cheaper. So, now your more around $10-$12 at best.

Your plowing price is low so, some will figure your higher price on salt is ok as they will believe they will not need much salt.