1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Is There Any Way to figure out how much to charge for salting?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by bihnsmoked, Sep 24, 2006.

1. bihnsmoked

bihnsmoked Junior Member

i was wondering if there is any1 out there who could give me a few ways to go about my bidding of salting as this is my first year with a spreader does any1 just charge a % of the price to plow the lot and how does it work and what % if u do? thanks Brian
  2. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

Best way to charge for salting is by the ton or yard - applied. Or charge a flat rate per trip and plan to average over several trips as you will use more or less depending on conditions, such as amount of ice or temps. Charging by % of what you charge to plow is not a good guide. You really want tos just develop a sense of what it will take for a certain area.
  3. bihnsmoked

bihnsmoked Junior Member

still not sure

ok well then i would like to know if any1 could give me some kinda idea on far it will last or how much u charge by the ton i think i can get a ton for about $56.00 not sure yet but if so what would u suggest i charge per ton and how long should that last me minimum?
  4. Grn Mtn

Grn Mtn PlowSite.com Addict

• what spreader do you have
    • what are your salt prices
    • how much does it cost you to drive your truck around (gas, insurance, upkeep etc)
    • what kind of deicing/anti-icing are you doing (salt only, plow & salt, heavy, light)
    there is no magic number, you must know what your costs are to figure out how much to charge. application rates will vary also but generally you can expect about 14-18, 50lb bags per 46k sqft