1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Is there any tricks to make a magnetic roof mount light bar not scratch the paint?

Discussion in 'Strobe Lighting' started by sld92e_23, Jul 4, 2008.

1. sld92e_23

sld92e_23 Member
    from Boston

I have a 360 degree led lightbar...it has magnetic mounts....Is there any good way to make it so it doesn't scratch the paint on the roof...Prob a stupid question, but I had to see if anyone on here had a trick or two...Thanks in advance for any info

2. LawnProLandscapes

LawnProLandscapes PlowSite.com Addict

ive had a few buddies put small pieces of felt between roof and magnet, the one had his code 3 rotator blow off but he was also going 85+ mph. also maybe try to find a set of the rubber vaccuum magnets, i had em on my ecco rotator and they have a rubber boot over the magnet that also forms a suction to the roof.

3. JD Dave

JD Dave PlowSite Fanatic

I've heard of guys using duct tape but I've never tried it.

4. F250 Boss v

F250 Boss v Senior Member

Yes, it can and has been done; a thin nonadhesive tape (nonadhesive cause if you leave it on year round it'll make a mess from melting glue!) can be applied to the magnets, BUT make sure you run at least 90lb. mags ! Or you can have your light blow off! I run a Whelen Liberty mini, and have the mags taped over, light stays on just fine. But like I said I run 4 -90lb. magnets on it, -no marks and the light comes off at the end of the season. No mfg. I know of will honor a waranty repair for a mag. light that blows off... So be careful ! By the way you asked a good question, our rigs are expensive!

5. mulcahy mowing

mulcahy mowing Senior Member