Snow Plowing Forum banner

Is there any tricks to make a magnetic roof mount light bar not scratch the paint?

15K views 12 replies 10 participants last post by  WetChicken 
#1 ·
I have a 360 degree led lightbar...it has magnetic mounts....Is there any good way to make it so it doesn't scratch the paint on the roof...Prob a stupid question, but I had to see if anyone on here had a trick or two...Thanks in advance for any info

#2 ·
sld92e_23;560918 said:
I have a 360 degree led lightbar...it has magnetic mounts....Is there any good way to make it so it doesn't scratch the paint on the roof...Prob a stupid question, but I had to see if anyone on here had a trick or two...Thanks in advance for any info
ive had a few buddies put small pieces of felt between roof and magnet, the one had his code 3 rotator blow off but he was also going 85+ mph. also maybe try to find a set of the rubber vaccuum magnets, i had em on my ecco rotator and they have a rubber boot over the magnet that also forms a suction to the roof.

#4 ·
Yes, it can and has been done; a thin nonadhesive tape (nonadhesive cause if you leave it on year round it'll make a mess from melting glue!) can be applied to the magnets, BUT make sure you run at least 90lb. mags ! Or you can have your light blow off! I run a Whelen Liberty mini, and have the mags taped over, light stays on just fine. But like I said I run 4 -90lb. magnets on it, -no marks and the light comes off at the end of the season. No mfg. I know of will honor a waranty repair for a mag. light that blows off... So be careful ! By the way you asked a good question, our rigs are expensive!

#5 ·
go to a fabric store buy some scrap thin cloth cut it and throw it between roof and magnet wont effect the magnet and it wont scratch the paint thats what i did last season worked great light bar was on all winter. cost me less than a dollar too...

#6 ·