1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Is spreading salt worth it?

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by snowpusher tim, Dec 8, 2008.

1. snowpusher tim

snowpusher tim Junior Member
    from MN

I have been plowing snow for 3 years for myself. I see more and more operators that are using tailgate and V box spreaders. How do you make money spreading salt? Put salting in the bid before the season I guess. Before I spend $1500 for a spreader, I want to make sure I can get a return on my investment.

YPLLLC Senior Member

Although I am new I have seen this question here a few times. If say you get salt for $5 a 50# bag you will charge at least $10 to spread that bag. I have in my contracts that I will spread salt if it is suppose to snow less than 2 inches aas that is my trigger, also I do a few neighborhood streets and it is up to me to spread salt. I have not had to spread it this year yet but plan to do it if i have to plow and then it is going to be below 32 degrees for more than a day or two. Hope this helps and you can search salt spreading to get more answers.
  3. snowpusher tim

from MN

I have 2" triggers, but for next season will I want to put it the bid that I will salt from a dusting up to 2", over 2" plow then salt everytime? I do spread salt on the sidewalks and I do double the cost of the bags of salt the customer.

YPLLLC Senior Member