1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Is it worth it?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by wannabeplowing, Feb 9, 2008.

1. wannabeplowing

wannabeplowing Senior Member

I am a college sophomore and have been thinking of buying an old truck with a plow. Do you guys think it would be worth me spending the money to do some work while I'm going to school? I go to school at NDSU and I was thinking plowing might be a good way to make some good money since I'm not in class at night...just wanted to get some advice from some experienced plowers out there!!
  2. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

In your situation - No. Consider all the costs of equipment, probable repairs and insurance. You've got basically two winters to build your customer base and recoup your investment - on a part time basis a few months of the year. This is a "long-haul" business. Those who think they'll make some good, quick money are always disappointed (and usually quit after the first winter with a financial loss in the thousands). I see it here every year.

For just one example of what can go wrong, read: http://www.plowsite.com/showthread.php?t=58080
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2008
  3. wannabeplowing

Thanks for the good thread link, I should have been more specific in my first post. This is something I woud be doing after I graduate as well. I would like to start a lawn service and then do snow removal in the winter so this isn't something I'm just thinking of doing until I graduate. Would this change your answer or would you reccommend waiting until after I graduate to start with things?
  4. fireball

fireball PlowSite.com Veteran

Thanks for asking