1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Is DOT Number Required for Snow Plowing in Michigan

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by RayMich, Nov 26, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RayMich

RayMich Junior Member
    from Mid MI

I am new to this business and I would greatly appreciate it if someone could point me to where I can get answers to my questions.

We plan on running ONE, perhaps TWO trucks in a family business for commercial and residential snow plowing in Michigan this season. The trucks are Chevy and GMC 3/4 Ton 4WD with a maximum GVWR of 9,200 lbs. Both trucks will be equipped with BOSS 8.2" Power-V Poly Blade plows. -- We will NOT be pulling any trailers.

• Are we required to obtain DOT Numbers for these trucks?
    • Does the driver(s) need a Commercial Driver's License (Chauffeur License) for plowing, as long as we don't pull any trailers and stay below 10,000 GVWR?
    • If we do need DOT numbers, where do we apply to get them.
    Thank you for your help.

- Ray -

2. WIPensFan

WIPensFan PlowSite Veteran

3. BigBoyPlowin

BigBoyPlowin Senior Member

You dont need any.

4. RayMich

RayMich Junior Member
    from Mid MI

Thank you guys. I really appreciate your help.

I have a couple more questions.
    • Is there any downside to getting a US-DOT number, just in case I decide to pull a trailer later? Are there any reporting or tax requirements from having a US-DOT number?
    • If we decide to pull a trailer, then obviously the Combined GVWR will exceed 10,000 lbs and we will need a US-DOT Number. Let's say the trailer would be for hauling snowblowers, extra salt, etc. Does the driver then need a Chauffeur's license or CDL of any kind?