1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

is boss a good plow?

Discussion in 'Boss Plows Discussion' started by PremierLand, Sep 7, 2004.

1. PremierLand

PremierLand PlowSite.com Addict
    from detroit

well at my dealer they gave me a quote of $400 for a boss super duty 7" 6' plow, and $4800 for a 7" 6' v plow.... is this a good/reasonable price for a boss plow?

mind you, i dont know much about plows this is my first year.

i was looking at getting a snow sport for the front of my dakota for small cleanup stuff, he said $1200 for the snow sport...

back to the boss....

the boss will be going on a 94 f150, 250 shocks and helpers, 4x4 and 4in lift... will the straight be better or the v? also, i was planing on getting the super duty boss because it seems like its betterbecause it has extra braces and an extra spring and it has an eaiser hitch!

is there better plows out there for this price? should i keep looking?

also, someone told me that on some plows the hydraulic fluid will freeze up and its a beatch to unfreeze. what plows/brand does this happen on? can someone please shed some light on my newbie head?!

oh ya, is there any kind of plow that has the controls/hydrauilc fluid stored under the hood to help it stay warm from the engine temp?

one more thing. should i get a tranny cooler or anything of some sort?

dang, those are alot of questions, i hope you fine fellas can help me out here!!!

thank you!

2. danmc

danmc Member