1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Is a 9.5 MVP Plus Poly too big?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by wick, Nov 11, 2008.

1. wick

wick Junior Member
    from Ontario

Hi, I'm looking to purchase a 03-04 F-250 5.4L Reg cab, I can get a really great deal on a new Western MVP Plus Poly Plow 9.5ft. I have one dealer telling me that a 9.5 is too big, and an other telling me the bigger the better and that particular truck can handle a 9.5.
    I'm a total noob to plowing but I'm looking to start a small Plow/Landscape business.
    I'll be doing a mix of residential and commercial lots.
    Any advise or help on this matter would be great..

Thanks

2. hydro_37

hydro_37 PlowSite Veteran
    from iowa

It will work. May be a little big for some driveways. Great plow on lots tho. The 5.4 may be a little underpowered pushing wet heavy snow with that big of a blade. JMO

3. ducatirider944

ducatirider944 Senior Member
    from Iowa

Ditto, I know a couple of guys using 9.2 boss on F-250's and they do just fine. They do have more power than you, one is a 7.3 diesel and the other is a V-10. The diesel has no problems, the V-10 does ok, but not like the diesel. I think that 5.4 would be really struggling with that blade.

4. WilliamOak

WilliamOak PlowSite.com Addict

If it gets really wet just take less of a blade width. As long as your keeping up with the storms you should be fine.

5. wick

wick Junior Member
    from Ontario

Thanks for the input guys, I figured that the plow may be a bit big for the 5.4 but wanted some input from people who have actually plowed before.