1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Remsen1, Jan 10, 2001.

1. Remsen1

Remsen1 Senior Member

Hi everybody, before I start asking for free advice I thought it would be appropriate to introduce myself.

My name is Dave, I live in Remsen, NY. My rig is a 95 Dodge 1500 with factory plow prep and tow package. It is fully loaded inside to make my time spent in the cab truely enjoyable. I'm new to plowing for hire and I am new to plowing with a truck. I have logged many, many hours plowing with a farm tractor with a 7 ft blade starting at age 12. I have to say I love plowing and have been hooked ever since I started and I can't think of any better way to spend a working day. Back in the tractor days I used to burn tank after tank of gas plowing for anybody who would let me do it (for free). Now gas is too expensive so I don't do that anymore. I am starting to enjoy plowing with my truck. Plowing with a truck sure beats the hell out of plowing with a tractor out in the elements, but I have found that it is a bit more complicated.

I stumbled accross this site mainly because I was having a few minor problems with plowing my own driveway. What a goldmine this forum is! I got the answers to my questions just by reading some of the conversations.

Just because I was looking for a solution to the problem I was having plowing my own driveway doesn't mean that is all that I am in it for. For as long as I can remember I have wanted to go into business for myself, specifically plowing and lawncare (yes, I love mowing grass too even though I am highly alergic, i have found ways to get around the alergies).