1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

insurance as a sub contactor

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by fordboy, Mar 4, 2008.

1. fordboy

fordboy Senior Member

wondering what you all are carrying for insurance as a sub. WOndering if I should plan on doing somthing different as far as insurance next season as i belive our season is pretty much done.Thanks for the input

2. SnoFarmer

SnoFarmer PlowSite Fanatic
    from N,E. MN

What do you think a sub is?

A sub, is a contractor who is hired to do a job by an other contractor.

I'm a contractor, I have a lot that I want to hire out.
    I hire an other contractor to plow it, they just became a sub-contractor and I became the general contractor.

An employee is not a sub nor is a substitute plower a sub.

So set up your business, go legit, become a contractor and get the proper commercial ins.

Don't let the name sway you, plowing residential drives is commercial work, anytime money passes hands it is commercial work.

Last edited: Mar 4, 2008
  3. Mark Oomkes

Mark Oomkes PlowSite Fanatic

Isn't it one of those things that goes underwater with torpedoes and missiles?

Or are you talking about a sub sandwich?

4. SnoFarmer

from N,E. MN

lol
    sub par
    sub prime.
    sub standard

Your a contractor if you run your Binky from start to finish.
    Your a sub contractor if you don't.......:angel:

5. fordboy

fordboy Senior Member