1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

installing plow headlights

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by cward05, Sep 20, 2004.

1. cward05

cward05 Senior Member
    from CT

Hello everyone, I recently bought a pair of snowplow lights off ebay. My question is a quick and simple one, should I use dielectric grease on the open wires to connect them to the truck wiring? Also, it comes with a new toggle switch, but can I just keep the old one if it is working? If there is anything else I need to do to make it a quick, easy, and safe install, could you let me know since this is my first time doing electrical work? Thanks.

Last edited: Sep 20, 2004
  2. grotecguy

grotecguy Senior Member

Use good quality connectors to make your splices. I use the heat shrink type. One type has actual solder in a heat shrink sleeve. You heat it up with a small butane torch and melt the solder and heat shrink the splice at the same time. There is also a "liquid electrical tape". You brush it on to the connection after soldering the wires. It dries in a few mins and makes a weathertite seal.

Do it right and do it once,
    Mark K
  3. cward05

cward05 Senior Member
    from CT

problems with signals flashing