1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

installing a new plow

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by golfmanres, Jan 4, 2002.

1. golfmanres

golfmanres Senior Member

OK so i have a good back ground in heavy machine mechanics and i was wondering how hard it is to install a plow my self. I can admit i have never done this before and was told it might be too challanging but the snow is coming on sunday and i still am with out a plow. i have been told that i have to rip apart the front end is that true??? i have a chevy k2500 4x4 excab 1998 any help is greatly appreciated. the wiring is cake work i have installed prize winning car stereos before so thats not the problem it the drilling of the frame if i have to that might be a problem and the monting of the body mount.. HELP me please
  2. sledhead

sledhead Member

I mounted mine 2 weekends ago.
    A Western 8ft. Poly with an Ultra Mount.
    Although mine went on a Ford F-250 SD
    It took me about 13hrs. solo in my garage.
    That was taking my time to make a very neat and clean install.
    Had to drill 8 holes in the frame and 1 in the firewall.
    Dont sweat it. Like I said in an earlier post, its just a big errector set for grown ups.
    Im glad I did it myself. sore back and all.

3. Yardworks

Yardworks Senior Member