1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Inssurance Question???

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by Sharpshooter77, Jul 19, 2006.

1. Sharpshooter77

Sharpshooter77 Senior Member

Hello everyone, I am new to this site today. I already have been going through it and the information here is great. But I have a question on insurance for plowing. I have been plowing for 5 years for a company. But now I have my own truck, the truck is a 1985 F-250 with an 8 foot fisher. I wanted to know how much would the insurance for plowing cost (ball park figure) and what package should I get. Also I am only going to be doing a few drive-ways mostly for friends and family, and a few clients. And all plowing will be drive-ways. THANKS :waving: :waving:

2. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

You will need:

1. Commercial Vehicle insurance which replaces your regular vehicle insurance

and

2. General Liability insurance - Covers what is called "Completed Operations

Cost vary widely by area, personal situation and what type accounts you have. You should get a bare minimum of $300,000 and generally $1,000,000 is common for the sole operator. As an example of the variability of cost for GL, I pay $861/yr for $1,000,000 as a sole operator which is low. But I'm 57 yrs old with a clean claims record and a five year history in the industry. I live in a very rural area of a state not known for lawsuits. Others pay several thousands for the same coverage in, for example, New Jersey.

To learn more about the insurance issue, do a Search and type in "Commercial Insurance", then "General Liability". Have several hours for reading.

3. basher

basher PlowSite Fanatic
    from 19707