1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

inspect my weld repair pics

Discussion in 'Blizzard Plows Discussion' started by jimhoff, Oct 7, 2009.

1. jimhoff

jimhoff Junior Member
    from Alaska

I beat up my A frame and had to weld it together. First I had to cut it up to weld the inside. Let me know if you think she'll hold a season:

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

2. dellwas

dellwas Senior Member

I'm no expert at welding, but the welds look a little cold to me (not enough penetration, too cold)

Why not join over here and post the pics to get some expert opinions:

http://weldingweb.com

3. Wallace

Wallace Member

ya it is way cold don't look at us a picking on you look at us as helping you.
    I guess you are open to any advise otherwise you wouldn't have asked.;)

4. Schwinn68

Schwinn68 Senior Member

the welds look like they will hold. You might want to grind down the questionable welds and put some new beads on but I've seen a lot worse. Make sure to put on some paint on there when you're done and it should be just fine

5. JD Dave

JD Dave PlowSite Fanatic

I agree, some of my first welding jobs looked a little like that and they held just fine. If you were just fixing little cracks I'm sure it will hold fine, Paint it then keep your eye on it over the winter. Did you clean the surface up really well before you started to weld? Also turn the heat up a little more and relax next time. What type of rod were you using?

6. naturalgreen

naturalgreen Senior Member

looks like they should work temp may be ok but you were going a little fast. but if you turn iit up you can go a little faster but practice going slower first. grind down questionable and see how deep you penetrated.