1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Input on what plow to get

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by NEUSWEDE, Dec 31, 2003.

NEUSWEDE Senior Member

I am just getting into the plowing business yet, I am not doing it this year but will next winter. My question is on what plow I should get? I will be Buying a GMC Sierra 2500 HD in the spring and will be getting a plow either in the summer or the fall. I am in between the Fisher X Blade, Blizzard 810 or the straight Blade Boss with trip edge. I will be doing resdential and commercial and will be using the plow for a bunch of years and want something depenable and strong. What are your imputs or suggestions? I am leaning toward the blizzard 810 because it is a straight plow and I am not interested in V plows and that I can extend it and bend forward to push and pile snow. The cost isn't a factor but I want something that will work well for plowing in a Maine Winter. Also just so I know about what are the prices for each (ballpark)? Again price isn't a issue but just interested.
    Thanks in advance

Even though it is far off I am asking now because many people won't be on the board when I make my decision.
  2. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

Dylan, if you want to discuss each in depth contact me. I have quite a bit of literature for each and have some practical advise that might help you. If you wanted to, come up and we could meet in my office. I'm free about any time. This is a full time career for me. I'm in Palermo - east of Augusta on Rte 3.

I'm around all year.

3. PLOWMAN45

PLOWMAN45 2000 Club Member

you should get a western ultra mount pro plow 7.5 or 8.0
  4. parrothead

parrothead Senior Member