1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Income potential plowing for a season.

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by jons999, Feb 27, 2015.

1. jons999

jons999 Junior Member

I've been doing commercial plowing for about 15 years now with trucks, skid steers and front end loaders. I've always worked for other people on nights and weekends using their equipment. Winters have been pretty crazy the last few years so im thinking next season i'll buy some equipment and go out on my own. Then i would do construction/skid steer work in the summer. I would probably quit my 90k a year day job if i did this. So what is the income potential of one guy plowing full time in an average winter? Obviously there are tons of variables here but are any of you guys making a comfortable living plowing, or do i need to hire a bunch of employees and go big to make that kind of money? I already own a new F250 and have great credit to buy equipment at low interest. Im also a master certified mechanic so overhead from repair costs would be parts only.

2. alldayrj

alldayrj PlowSite.com Addict

With all due respect, that sounds like a terrible trade off. Do you hate your job or does your boss abuse you or something?

3. jons999

jons999 Junior Member

Haha no, just sick of killing myself everyday to make someone else money. I'd do the plowing thing and keep my regular job but i work 12 hour days sometimes so im worried i wouldn't be able to service my accounts in time during big storms.

4. beanz27

beanz27 Senior Member