1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

In VA, New to the forum

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by tinffx, Jun 5, 2009.

1. tinffx

tinffx Member

Hello my name is Tony, I am new to the forum but i have been pushing snow for 7 years. I have been running other people's trucks and for the last few years (sans 08-09) managing a handful of jobs with 4-5 other trucks. The "friend" of mine I had been working for "forgot" to pay me $2500 so I took the last year off, mostly because it only snowed 3". I am not in the contracting business regularly, I actually work for Wells Fargo.

This past week I acquired my first plow truck. A 1987 GMC 2500 with a 8' Meyer setup. I bought it from my former boss from when I was in college working on cars. I have actually pushed with the truck a few times in the past years. It runs like a top. Other than a little body rust the thing might as well be new. When I was running the shop I had calls at like 5am needing all kinds of stuff fixed. That's actually how I ended up in a truck in the first place. Needless to say, for an old truck I know where it has been and what has been done to it.

I am not sure yet if I want to go out and solicit my own accounts or do some subbing just yet. I finance homes & home renovations so I am not really in a position to try and sell the snow removal work quite as much as I may need to for it to be worthwhile. I am really leaning toward just subbing if I can find enough work that way.

Anyhow, I plan on having myself & a friend of mine with experience for a backup, being able to run 24/7 in the snow when it is needed. If anyone needs a truck in the area that can run like that please let me know.