1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

I'm white smoking- thoughts?

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by rbgerrish, Mar 7, 2003.

1. rbgerrish

rbgerrish Junior Member

Hi folks,

my 88 Suburban has started smoking. It doesnt always smoke- sometimes it wont for a while, and other times it'll blind 5 cars behind me! I'm no mechanic, but I enjoy learning about my trucks and working on them. I'm looking for any suggestions as to what I should do about my smoking problem. This engine has about 150,000 miles on it. (FI 350 Chevy) I dont want to take it to a dealer, but I might look for a good mechanic in my area.

Many thanks,
    Ryan

2. wyldman

wyldman Member

Welcome to plowsite.

If your sure it's white smoke,it must be burning coolant.Is the coolant level dropping at all ? Most likely it's just a head gasket.

If's it blue smoke it could be burning oil,like bad valve stem seals,broken ring,etc.It could also be a bad trans modulator valve if it has one.

I'd first try to determine exactly what it is burning,and then try to isolate it.Finding a good mechanic would be a big help.

3. rbgerrish

rbgerrish Junior Member

thanks Wyldman!

The truck IS in fact loosing coolant, but it isnt leaking it on to the ground.

ryan

4. wyldman

wyldman Member

It is most likely a head gasket then.You can pull the plugs and check to see if you can spot which cylinder it's getting into.A compression test may help pinpoint it too,but not always.