1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

I'm New to Plowing

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by mpaff2, Sep 25, 2015.

1. mpaff2

mpaff2 Junior Member

So this is my first post on here, after reading a lot of other posts, and you all seem super helpful. I am a college student who owns a landscaping business who does mainly lawn mowing. We have done very well and have over a 100 weekly customers and now we are thinking of getting into plowing.

1. We will only be doing residential drives that are on average about 75' by 15'. I use a 2000 Ford F150 XLT 5.4L V8 to pull my lawn mowing trailer and I was planning on using that for plowing with a 7'6" Boss Plow. Will this be able to get the job done or would it be pushing the F150 too hard? I just had the tie rods replaced, as well as the upper and lower ball joints, and I am planning on having the U joints replaced before the season begins.

2. When people say that plowing beats your truck up, what exactly do they mean? Like mainly cosmetic or overall repairs. How much should I expect to pay in repairs each year on the truck and the plow?

3. For extra info I live in southeast Wisconsin if that helps at all?

2. Randall Ave

Randall Ave 2000 Club Member

Welcome, as far as beating up the truck, your hanging 600 pounds of steel off the front, wears out ball joints and more. Just take your time, remember its a snow plow, not a bull dozer. If your gonna be taking on that many drives you better think of a back up solution if the truck breaks. Good luck, and check with your insurance agent.

3. ss502gmc

ss502gmc Senior Member