1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

I'm intimidated and need advice

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Gonzoduke0, Sep 12, 2009.

1. Gonzoduke0

Gonzoduke0 Junior Member

Ok, first things first: Hello everyone my name's Phil and I'm new (clearly). I do apologize in advance as this post is probably going to be quite lengthy, but I have a lot I want to get off my chest. I would like to say that this is a great forum with a TON of information. So much so, that I need to slow down on the reading posts, searching for answers, and just ask some questions. By some, I mean a lot.

So I'll start with a quick bio. I'm 28 and live in Massachusetts. I work in construction as a laborer and have for 3 years. It was only going to be a temporary thing at first, but I'm sure some of you know how that can go. I'm getting tired of being the low man on the totem pole. I work extremely hard and intelligently, but it's a small family business so the possibilities for advancement are very small. I might be able to work my way up the ladder to be lead laborer...but other than that, I'm still the #1 gopher and it's just getting old.

My plan is to start a landscaping business (lawn maintenance to start) in the spring. I want to incorporate Snow Plowing into my company so I'm not bored/broke in the winter. Ideally I'd love to start this coming winter, but I'm not sure that I'm ready, financially, mentally, experience...etc. I have many apprehensions about diving into the small business world. I'm not being overly stupid (I hope). I've been doing my research, getting books from the library on running your own business and marketing.