1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

I need some help. Estimate on 1.5 acre lot for next year

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by bearpaw, Mar 21, 2009.

1. bearpaw

bearpaw Junior Member

Hello Fellas,

I am somewhat new to pushing snow. I have a 1.49 acre lot with 4 light poles and only one sidewalk in front of building that I need to bid on. The lady that owns the building told me the guy that does it now charges her $65 an hour. She thinks he is too expensive. She wants me to be able to tell her exactly what it will cost her for 1-3 inches, 3-6 inches, 6-9 inches and so on. This is the first commercial account I've estimated. How long will this lot take me and how much do I charge her. I really need to land this one guys! Thanks for all of your input.
  2. JDiepstra

JDiepstra PlowSite.com Addict

Have a picture of it? Square? Rectangle? Odd shaped? I have a pain in the neck lot that is one acre. It has 4 odd shaped islands, a curved drive and some backdragging. Takes an about an hour. I think you could do this in an hour if it is straight and easy. What size plow do you have though? I can tell you this if she thinks $65 an hour is too much, she is going to be a huge pain to deal with!
  3. Rc2505

Rc2505 PlowSite.com Addict