1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

I need some advice... this one may be for all the marbles.(Long Post)

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Nascar Fan, Feb 16, 2005.

1. Nascar Fan

Nascar Fan Senior Member

I have been looking for a state/county/town/village highway/d.p.w. job ever since i graduated from high school,but it just never happened for me.I have spent the last 10 years at my current job and I know I am secure.I may have a shot to get in to a local D.P.W.,but it will be a pay cut of about $4.00 per hour.Now with that said I made less that 34,000 for the year after 10 years at my current job,and that includes more than $2,000 in overtime .We have 401k plan that the company matches up to 66and 2/3 percent of whatever we put in.Truth is i really do not have a lot in there because on my pay I honestly i can't afford it.The benefits are getting expensive at my current job and they are much cheaper at the DPW plus they have a 25 year retirement.I have time with a different town highway plowing/and winging but it did not work there as it was a huge bunch of politics(waited for 5 years of part time service to have the superintendant hire his son full time off the street and screwed us).At the risk of sounding brash and boastful that I do not mean to sound like I can honestly say I can operate any piece of equipment that ican get my butt onto,and run it correctly without pounding it.I do have my class B c.d.l. and it is clean.I honestly can say i will work as hard as the day is long,and show up everyday to do it again, but i really need to make money doing it.Do you guys think I would be crazy to pursue my dream of heavy equipment operator/heavy truck driver or just f