1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

I need more than a shovel and strong back.

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by Canada, Feb 18, 2008.

1. Canada

Canada Junior Member

My wife and I recently bought two different rental properties....a pair of houses. Anyways, snow removal for them is a MUST, whereas our house has kinda been a 'if I have time' type of thing in the past.

So I'm stuck between a plow and a snow blower....I see a couple of downsides to both....

With the plow, I see the damage aggressive plowing can do to a vehicle first hand as I am a mechanic at the local Chevrolet dealership. I bought a 2007 Chevrolet Silverado Classic (crew cab, short box) K2500HD 6.0 a year ago (nearly to the day). I like the truck, plan on owning it for a long time and I want to keep it 'nice'.

I also think this truck might be a bit awkward as long as it is.....I know some guys plow with crew cab long boxes, but this would mainly see in town driveway duty....*maybe* a couple of parking lots.

It would also still leave me with the sidewalks to do by hand....the wife sure as hell isn't going to do it.

I could also just get a snow blower (be it a walk behind or mounted to a lawn mower).......but that leaves me out in the snow and cold longer....I'm a wuss.

Some of the guys I work with have bought and paid for snow plows in a winter with moderate amounts of snow....between my stuff and any 'custom' removal I might be able to do so as well.