1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

I need advice about which plow to buy?

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by bstout, Sep 10, 2007.

1. bstout

bstout Member

Greetings all!

I have a half mile long driveway that is gravel/dirt/hard flat sand rock. I've been plowing it for the last nine years with a 1951 Allis Chalmers WD and a rear blade. I've never owned a front blade plow before. I know nothing about the comforts of plowing from the inside of a truck cab. I do know the pleasures of never having a mechanical failure/problem with any of my plowing equipment for the last nine years. I now want comfort and reliability both.

Here's my questions. I plan on purchasing a complete set-up for my 2000 Tacoma (6 cyl.) and I would like for the set-up to be front mount, reliable, compact and be readily adaptable to my 2005 Tundra (V8) in the event my Tacoma dies.

I was considering a Western. They suggest a poly blade/suburbanite? I'm not sure I want to spend upwards of $4000.00 for a snow plow blade made out of plastic.

Should I look for a used one. Are the older models better than the new ones?

I don't want to be fooling around with mechanical failures that should have never happened to begin with.

What say someone please?

Bob

2. vtzdriver

vtzdriver Senior Member
    from Vermont

I haven't had any issues with my poly blade and think you will find it fine for personal use.

It's not as tall as the standard plows, so snow over the top can be an issue and it's harder to mount something to the top of the blade to prevent that.

It's also more likely to be transferrable to a new vehicle with a 1/2 ton rating.

3. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine