1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

I love a good ram charger

Discussion in 'Ram Trucks' started by murphy4trees, Mar 5, 2007.

1. murphy4trees

murphy4trees Member

I have been plowing with a 1987 ram charger for a few years. I bought the truck in '03 and put the plow on it. It was clean back then. I had an 89 charger before that, which I put a plow on as well. I love these trucks because I specialize in small parking lots and tight driveways.
    So this past summer I bought an 88 ram charger with a plow system, no blade, as a back up. Well my buddy blew his rear so we put that charger on the road in the middle of the last storm. He told me it was not going out of 4x4 into 2 hi easily. It was sticking. One of the things I love so much about the charger is that it has auto locking hubs. I hear there is a vacuum system that contols the axles, which could be sticking and I should pull it out and clean it, in case there is some crud in there that is causing it to stick.

Also this truck has a lot louder humm when its in 4x4 than my other two. This has me concerned.

The oil was filthy so I'll probably get all the fluids, engine, trans, differentials and transfer case changed. Any suggestions or advise are appreciated.

Thanks

Last edited: Mar 5, 2007
  2. g.moore

g.moore Senior Member