1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

i have been doing snow for 6 years and now i want to upgrade

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by PreZiCion, Feb 15, 2011.

1. PreZiCion

PreZiCion Junior Member

i have been doing snow removal for 6 years now and i want to buy a new truck and plow but im not sure what to get.

right now i got :

gmc sierra 2500hd 6.0 with a 8' fisher plow
    ford 1989 7.3 diesel regular cab with 63 000mile on it 7.5 western plow
    chevy fleet 454 with 8' fisher plow
    bob cat 2008 with 8' snow box
    and a 1955 loader terex with a 12' snow box that everything is new on it.

i only do big commercial lots

im thinking of buying ........

a 06 07 silverado 2500 regular cab 6' box with the duramax//allisson setup

brand new fisher Vss plow 9.6 with wings and sno control 16' backplow

what do you guys think ?
  2. oldmankent

oldmankent PlowSite.com Addict

I think you are not going to be able to find a 3/4 ton regular cab truck with a short bed. What do you salt with? I would want a dually running those size plows. You are going to need some mass to move that snow. I'd want at least 1000 lbs in the truck bed.
  3. Pushin 2 Please

Pushin 2 Please PlowSite Veteran

Agree with above, that you will NOT find a regular cab short box in a 3/4 ton. Also that is a big blade. A 3/4 ton will handle it, just make sure you get a set Timbrens or crank your T-Bars. Can't go wrong with the Duramax / Allission combo!
  4. swtiih

swtiih PlowSite.com Addict

If your going to buy a pickup why not just buy a 1 ton at the minimum.

STIHL GUY Senior Member
    from CT