1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

I Feel Stupid!

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by repo_man62, Jul 1, 2005.

1. repo_man62

repo_man62 Senior Member

O.K. guys....been plowing for 20+...but this is my first 5 spd. plow truck. I have NO clue of the way to plow with a stick. I am a truck-driver by trade so don't try to school me on driving a stick...just plowing with one. Any help appreciated.

2. justme-

justme- 2000 Club Member

don't ride the clutch- either in or out... period. Depress the clutch when you're getting to the pile, you want to be coasting into a pile slowing from the snow, and you want to stop nice and gently in the pile, just like an auto. You'll learn the judgement quick, it's not much different. Pick a gear and pretty much stay in it when pushing- drives and small lots are 1st gear- no need to shift to 2nd unless you're doing a large lot. the simple act of shifting gets complicated fast between the abnormally deceleration rate from the blade of snow (you have to learn how much over normal upshift rpm to run it- experiance based on your truck) controlling the blade, steering and shifting itself.

Been a few years since I did a stick (my chevy has been off the road for a couple), but I learned to plow in a stick.

3. repo_man62

repo_man62 Senior Member

WOW! I actually got an excellent answer instead of a smart a## comment! Thanks for the info...and I'll be sure to apply the knowledge. Thanks alot...Bob

4. evil snowman

evil snowman Member