1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

I feel like I need to hold my breath

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by glenspot, Oct 13, 2004.

1. glenspot

glenspot Senior Member

I know at least once a day people ask for help with a bid.... But, I hope some of the professionals here that I respect so much will help me out. :)

I am submitting a bid for 2 group homes. They insist on getting a "per season" price. And since I'm just starting out, i WANT this job. But I also want a fair price for it. I'm willing to give them a seasonal price.

Here are some stats:

I think it will take about a half hour at each home. (Lets say that my time is worth $65 for the half hour...so, $130 for the two....EACH time I plow. )

They want a 3" trigger. And they want it plowed EVERY 3 inches. These group homes are staffed 24-hours a day....and access can't be impeded by snow. Ambulances, fire trucks, their own vans need to CONSTANTLY have access. Also. If it snows 5" of snow...they need to be plowed. But the city plow may not come until an hour later...so they need to be plowed again. (A lot of hassle)

Our area gets anywhere between 200 - 300 inches of snow per year. (That means that I may need to go out plowing as many as 100+ times over the season, but perhaps as few times as 60 or so.

Additionally, because of the amount of snow we get. A loader will be needed at least once to push back the banks. (I will have to hire one..and lets assume that will cost me at least $500 per visit, per home....)

OK....here are the HIGH numbers I came up with:

$13,000 JUST for plowing

Then another $2,000 for the loader.