1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

I am a General Contractor, and I have been thinking about offering plowing.

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by RPGC, Jan 6, 2010.

1. RPGC

RPGC Junior Member

First off I would like to introduce myself. My name is Nick and I am 22 years of age. I recently opened up my general contracting business after working for numerous contractors, and property rehabilitators since I was 15 years of age. I have always had a huge interested in construction, and especially woodworking. I graduated from college with a bachlors of science this past may. This is the first year of my business.

Now, to get to the point. I am located in the Binghamton, NY area and obviously I am thinking about offering snow plowing. I know that thier is money to be had in the industry otherwise people would not do it. I currently hold a 1M dollar liability policy for my company, auto insurance, and all that good stuff. I realize that I would have to add snow plowing to my liability policy, but I cannot imagine this would cost more than the addition of roofing liability insurance. I figure it would be another 1,400 a year. Since my policy now costs 1,400 + the addition of roofers liability of 2,100.

I have access to a truck, which would be a 2006 Ford F350 SD SRW Diesel 6.0L. I currently do not have a plow, as I was not sure if I was going to get into plowing.

I have experience doing plowing for about 2 years only, so I am still very new to the game and have many mistakes to make, i'm sure.

What I am getting at is, What size plow should I be looking for, and any brands in particular?