1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

HUGH Problem

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by FTGUprprtyMaint, Mar 27, 2008.

1. FTGUprprtyMaint

FTGUprprtyMaint Member

So today i was at my part time job where im a manager at a local oil change garage and had my truck over the pit, my truck has been making some weird sqeeking noise from the steering, someone told me it might be a ball joint; well today i discovered both of my front u joints at the axles were definitely the problem. I was able to take the front drive shaft and twist it enough to were i could see the knuckles of the axle move back and forth before the joints would move at all. THEN my next problem is the weather is calling for 3-5 inches of snow tonight, and then another 1-3 during the day tomorrow. Its been snowing for a few hrs now but nothing has stuck to the pavement just some real heavy stuff on the grass. its about 33*F right now. SO MY QUESTION to you guys do u think it will be alright to run plowing in the morning?????????

2. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

Plow you have no choice

3. FTGUprprtyMaint

FTGUprprtyMaint Member

i know that but is it safe?

4. ABES

ABES PlowSite.com Addict
    from MN

you could

plow it till it breaks and hope it makes it threw all the accounts

try and get someone else to cover all your accounts with there truck

get the new parts asap and replace the worn parts

or run in 2wd since it then wont be using the front driveshaft/axle

I plowed a whole storm with a bad u joint in the front drive shaft i went easy on it and it lasted the storm.

5. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

What he said. Not suppose to get a lot just take your time.

6. gotsnow?