1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

how would you guys handle this situation???

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by celticgreens, Nov 9, 2004.

1. celticgreens

celticgreens Junior Member

ok, i'm new to plowing and this will be my first year. i haven't picked the method in which i should follow in terms of inches, prices, salt...etc. anyways, let me give you guys a scenerio and see how you handle it.

ok forecast calls for 8 inches of snow in your area. and it does. lets say an inch an hour and starts at 8 pm and ends at 4am. how do you handle it?? what is your trigger? how many times do you come back to the same house to clear it again and at what depth do you repeat a driveway? what do you charge and at what depth does it increase and with what factors? and when do you put down salt? is it each time or do you come back when the snow is done for a final coat of salt before you go home.

lets just say you do average sized residential driveways only (about 20X50).

do any of you have a worker that does sidways and walkways? if so, what do you pay them. just completely explain your entire process for me and all those newbies that haven't had any luck with a thread search. thanks guys, anything will help. :drinkup:

2. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

Ok, here goes. But, remember that what works for me doesn't necessarily work in your area. For one thing, we don't do "cleanups" here for residentials.