1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

How to remove Curtis plow?

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by mmarseglia, Feb 26, 2016.

1. mmarseglia

mmarseglia Junior Member

I just bought a used Dodge Ram 1500 4x4 2003 w/ an older Curtis Sno Pro 3000 plow. This is just for the driveway and small home farm. I'm not a pro.

Didn't come with a manual and the instructions on the moldboard don't match my hitch.

I have two gas cylinders and a lever on the A frame. I think it is used to drop the kickstand.

There is no slack in the chain connecting the kickstand to the lift cylinder so the kickstand will not drop. I don't know how to lower the lift cylinder any further.

Do I just push on the lift cylinder until it drops? Stick a couple of blocks of wood under it?

I would also like to get a manual for the thing so I can order parts if necessary. None of the manuals on Curtis' site match mine. I think it's an older trip edge model.

2. kolwnmstr

kolwnmstr Senior Member

Firstly, pictures are always helpful.

Secondly just because the manual for yours isn't on their website doesn't mean they don't have them. Did you ask them?

3. Randall Ave

Randall Ave 2000 Club Member

I've installed a lot of Curtis plows. Tho we never did a trip edge. Need pics. Is there a toggle switch in the driver side front of a frame? Park on level surface. Put plow in float. Go out to plow. Hit toggle switch, lower Jack leg until it just starts to lift up rear of plow. Unhook wires. Release handles, back away from plow.

4. JustJeff

JustJeff 2000 Club Member