1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

    Dismiss Notice

How To Re-Post A Photo After It Has Been In Another Thread

Discussion in 'Equipment, Tools & Vehicle Pictures' started by White Gardens, Jan 20, 2013.

  1. White Gardens

    White Gardens 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,665

    I thought I would put up the PSA for members. Seems like you see all the time that people complain that they can't re-post a photo into a different thread.

    There is a way to do this and easily.




    First, go to the photo in a specific thread and right click on the image.

    Then go to "Copy Image Location" in the menu box.


    PlowSite1a.jpg


    Second, in your reply box, click on the image icon in the tool bar above


    PlowSite2ab.jpg


    Third, after you click on the image icon, a URL box will appear.


    PlowSite3ab.jpg


    Lastly, right click on your mouse, and scroll down to paste. This will paste in the location URL of the image you first copied.


    PlowSite4ab.jpg


    After that, the URL will be in your post, just hit reply and it will be in your reply post. You can do this as many times as you want with a single photo.



    Hope this helps, lots of times you see people complaining that they can't re-post an image. This is the way around that without having to re-size the image in another program and go through the process of re-loading the photo back to plowsite.


    Thumbs Up





    .............

    PlowSite1a.jpg

    PlowSite2ab.jpg

    PlowSite3ab.jpg

    PlowSite4ab.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2013
  2. White Gardens

    White Gardens 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,665

    Mods, you can make this a sticky if you wish, or move it to a different forum if you like.





    ....................
     
  3. Michael J. Donovan

    Michael J. Donovan Head Moderator, Online Communities Staff Member
    Messages: 1,051

    ok, thanks White Gardens...if this seems to work for most then we can think about making this a sticky :waving:
     
  4. White Gardens

    White Gardens 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,665

    Up to you, doesn't matter to me. This method seems to b the easiest way around re-posting photos. Not sure if the same method would work on Macs, or if there is an issue on certain browsers.

    .......
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2013
  5. grandview

    grandview PlowSite Fanatic
    Messages: 14,609

    [​IMG]

    Wow,now they'll need to know how to find the pix in the previous post!
     
  6. rofoth6

    rofoth6 Member
    from iowa
    Messages: 67

    you can also save image to cpomputer rename pic then post pic with dif name.
     
  7. crazyboy

    crazyboy Senior Member
    from NJ
    Messages: 298

    Hold down control and click on the photo to get the menu to pop up on a mac., and then select copy image location. Control paste to paste the url in the IMG box.
     
  8. White Gardens

    White Gardens 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,665

    Way too much work. ;-)

    Another bonus with this method is if you've got photos on Facebook eeor Google plus. When you load them to those sites they are automatically resized. All you have to do is copy the pic location and insert them on plowsite.
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2013
  9. 1olddogtwo

    1olddogtwo PlowSite Fanatic
    Messages: 11,527

    takes me like 4 or 5 seconds the way i do it with paint
     
  10. ConnorExum

    ConnorExum Senior Member
    Messages: 282

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2013
  11. 1olddogtwo

    1olddogtwo PlowSite Fanatic
    Messages: 11,527

    try again...
     
  12. White Gardens

    White Gardens 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,665

    Another bonus to this method is that you are not limited in the number of pics in one post. I'm pretty sure it's infinite.
     
  13. 1olddogtwo

    1olddogtwo PlowSite Fanatic
    Messages: 11,527


    have u tried that
     
  14. White Gardens

    White Gardens 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,665

    Yes, and we're going to do a little test.

    Notice the post time on this post.
     
  15. White Gardens

    White Gardens 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,665

    I take that back, I did 15 images and it only allowed 4 total. Seems like I've done it Lawnsite where I was able to get a ton of images on one post.





    .......................
     
  16. Oxmow

    Oxmow Senior Member
    Messages: 127

    What browser are you using, because mine in win 7 doesn't come up with that menu using internet explorer.
     
  17. White Gardens

    White Gardens 2000 Club Member
    Messages: 2,665

    Firefox.

    Never will I use explorer ever again. Runs too slow and too much crud added into it.

    If I were to make a second choice for browser, it would be google chrome.

    I just looked into explorer and you have to click on properties at the bottom. In the box it will give you the address URL. You should be able to highlight and copy that URL.

    I'll post a screenshot tomorrow.


    ........
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2013
  18. theholycow

    theholycow PlowSite.com Addict
    Messages: 1,180

    There's a name for this. It's called "hotlinking" (not to be confused with "hyperlinking" or just "linking").

    The same procedure can be used for almost any image on almost any site to post on almost any other site. It's quick and it keeps the image in one place.

    Getting the address is a little bit different in each browser. The important part is that you need the actual address of the image itself. 99% of the time it ends in .jpg, .gif, or .png. There are a few sites that serve image files without extensions or with weird extensions.

    Some sites don't allow hotlinking. This means that when you hotlink their image, the image won't work.

    Some sites make it difficult to get the image address. For facebook these days you have to click "download" then edit the "&dl=1" off the end of the image URL. For flickr you have to get hotlink code from the menu or click "view all sizes" and right-click the picture after that. If you just right-click the image the first time you see it, you may get a menu generated by the site instead of your browser or your browser may give you a menu for something other than the image (a layer that is on top of the image to prevent right-clicking for its address).

    Google sites such as Picasaweb and blogspot have the size in the URL and you can edit it yourself. Sometimes the size is missing from the URL and hotlinking may fail. You can and should add the size if it isn't there. The URL looks like:
    Code:
    http://blahblah.com/blah/gobbldygook/stuff/s800/filename.jpg
    Sometimes it says 'u' instead of 's' before the size. Available sizes are 72, 144, 200, 320, 400, 512, 576, 640, 720, 800, 912, 1024, 1152, 1280, 1440, 1600.

    Earlier in the thread, rofoth6 suggests re-hosting. There is a big advantage to re-hosting. If the original site goes down or removes the picture, a re-hosted picture will still be up. You could attach it to a post but most forums aren't very good at attachments. Instead, you could upload it to an image hosting site like picturehoster.info, photobucket.com, tinypic.com, imgur.com, etc.
     
  19. 2006Sierra1500

    2006Sierra1500 PlowSite.com Addict
    Messages: 1,758

    Same principle on Chrome. Only its "Copy Image URL"
     
  20. Oxmow

    Oxmow Senior Member
    Messages: 127